Stacking the Shelves #8

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s a chance to share any books you’ve bought, borrowed, or received in the past 7 days. All of the books on this list are linked to Goodreads.


I hope you’ve had a great week filled with books and holiday cheer! I sort of let go a bit seeing as nobody ever buys me books for Christmas (probably because they assume I have every book ever written) so I decided to find myself some bookish presents. I have no shame.
For Review

17910570

Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee (thanks @ Random House Children’s)

Oh my God, you guys, look at me controlling myself on Netgalley. *throws confetti*

From the Bookshop

A Great and Terrible Beauty The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind 93101 1333503713580951 6567017 12000020

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray (I know, I’m like 10 years late but whatever)

The Girl Who Could Silence the Wind by Meg Medina

Tales from the Arabian Nights by Richard Francis Burton (not this edition, the Barnes & Noble hardcover one)

Divergent by Veronica Roth (yes, I know I’m late)

United We Spy by Ally Carter (I’m totally NOT going to cry at the ending, I am strong damn it)

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz


The last two books have been on my TBR list for FOREVER so when I found them at my local used bookstore—okay, say what you will about supporting the author, but a) I’m poor, and b) I think of it as a rescue mission to keep books off the shelves of used bookstores and in my loving, underpaid arms—I made an unladylike noise (although when are my noises ever NOT unladylike?) and nearly impaled myself on a display trying to grab them from their respective shelves. CHRISTMAS CAME EARLY YOU GUYS IT’S A THING.

Anyway, that’s what I’ve added to my library this week. I’d love to hear what books you’ve found recently, so link me up in the comments! Happy holidays!
Love, Sam

 

11 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #8

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post #5 | The Nighttime Novelist

  2. Nice haul.

    Divergent is a fantastic book, so it’s a case of it not mattering that you’re late to the “party” so long as you enjoy the party. :)

    I love the titles for “Ophelia” and “Aristotle and Dante”, and the descriptions are interesting, so I’ve added them both on to my wish list.

    Please check out my haul for this week at http://thewanderingbookworm.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/book-haul-22nd-december-2013-a-k-a-hes-finally-let-the-moths-out-of-the-wallet/

    Enjoy your reads.

    • Right?! I don’t usually read children’s fiction, but it was just too cute to pass up.
      I’m looking forward to seeing how I get on with the author, but I think I’ll like her! I’ll have to take a look at The Diviners.
      Thanks for the heads up! I’ll check it out! :)

What do you think?

