Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our StarsHow did I get it? Waterstones in Uxbridge

Genre: YA, Romance

Summary: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Review: It’s a bit difficult to summarize how I feel about The Fault in Our Stars. I can say that it without a doubt deserves the hype it’s gotten; it’s an incredible book with an incredible message. And I loved John Green before I read it, so I was thrilled to see his voice shine through so clearly. The writing felt pure, honest, and genuine, which in the end made me laugh and cry with alarming regularity.

My only disappointment was that John Green did not do what I expected him to. I don’t want to give away anything, so I’ll put it this way. Hazel’s favorite book ends in a peculiar way. I expected—as John Green is a clever man—for The Fault in Our Stars to end in a similar way, which I feel would’ve been not only stronger, but less ordinary. The ending as it is comes dangerously close to being unoriginal, which bothers me considering what a unique book this is. But that is my only real complaint.

Did this book change my life? No, but it is an exceptionally rare thing for any book or work of art to do that for me, so I wasn’t really let down by that. And while I did not find anything particularly enlightening or profound in this story, I know that a great many other readers have and will. So my opinion of this book, while slightly more detached, is that it should be read, if only for the reason that it is a beautiful story.

Rating:

Four Stars

Recommend it?

Yes.

Purchase it:

Amazon | Book Depository

Other books by the author:

Looking for Alaska Paper Towns Will Grayson, Will Grayson

5 thoughts on “Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I have heard many good things about this book and the one common thing that keeps reoccurring is the beauty of the story. I saw another person reading it on the tube yesterday – I may have to indulge! Great review :D

  2. Pingback: The Sunday Post #5 | The Nighttime Novelist

  3. Pingback: Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green | booknomnom

  4. Pingback: The Fault in our stars by John Green | Aussie Bookworm

  5. Pingback: Found by Stacey Wallace Benefiel | Aussie Bookworm

What do you think?

