Review: My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger

How did I get it? Powell’s (absolutely incredible and GARGANTUAN bookstore in Portland, Oregon)

Genre: YA, Coming-of-Age

Synopsis: Best friends and unofficial brothers since they were six, ninth-graders T.C. and Augie have got the world figured out. But that all changes when both friends fall in love for the first time. Enter Alé. She’s pretty, sassy, and on her way to Harvard. T.C. falls hard, but Alé is playing hard to get. Meanwhile, Augie realizes that he’s got a crush on a boy. It’s not so clear to him, but to his family and friends, it’s totally obvious! Told in alternating perspectives, this is the hilarious and touching story of their most excellent year, where these three friends discover love, themselves, and how a little magic and Mary Poppins can go a long way.

Review: I honestly don’t know how to explain how much I loved this book. It made me laugh (I actually have bruises from falling off my bed, I was laughing that hard), it made me cry, and it made me feel so many emotions that by the end of it I just sat there grinning like a fool.

The unique formatting of it was so refreshing, from the IMs to the parents’ ridiculously amusing emails to letters to newspaper clippings. Everything about it felt original and unique, and it really warmed my heart to read about the purple balloon and Wei’s immortal words and all the lovely little things that made up this story. Every single character was relatable, lovable, charming, and genuine, and I adored the way they interacted with each other. Hucky especially made me cry while smiling, which is just not okay, and I basically wanted to high-five Alé constantly. Everyone had a moment to shine, everyone was dynamic and interesting, and every last character made me feel something, which is a very rare thing in a novel.

My Most Excellent Year was not only a blast to read, it was sweet and meaningful and so, so true that I’m pretty much convinced that every adolescent needs to read this book.

There’s honestly not much more to say without being repetitive. I loved everything about this book, point blank. It’s probably one of my all-time favorites, and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Rating:

Five Stars

Recommend it?

1000%. If you know how to read, you need to read this.

Purchase it:

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Other books by the author:

239092 2074974 113773

6 thoughts on “Review: My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger

  1. Pingback: The Sunday Post #3 | The Nighttime Novelist

What do you think?

