Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to My 13-Year-Old Sister

Books for Vivienne

Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish, with a new Top Ten prompt every week. Check it out!

1. My Most Excellent Year by Steve Kluger

I cannot express how much I love this book. It’s universal and I think my sister would not only love it, but also learn from it.

2. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

If you’ve been on my blog before, you have probably become aware of the fact that this book is very dear to me. It showed me the magic in writing, reading, and life. Even if my sister doesn’t get as much out of it as I did, I still think it’s a gorgeous book that always reminds me that life doesn’t have to be complicated or unhappy if you just look for the simplicity and the goodness in all the little things that make up each day.

3. Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery

Anne taught me to always dream and be myself. *tears up*

4. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter

Actually, the entire Gallagher Girls series is made of awesome. And I know that reading this will only make my sister even more bummed that she has to go to normal high school next year, but the books are so fabulous I don’t think she’ll really care.

5. Bras and Broomsticks by Sarah Mlynowski

I can’t help it. I just absolutely adored this series. It was so fun and I had a blast reading it.

6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

I’m planning on putting my children to sleep on The Tales of Beedle the Bard. Obviously I want my sister to read Harry Potter.

Inkheart

7. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

I adored this series when I was thirteen. Just the thought of being able to live inside a story gives me thrills.

Hoot

8. Hoot by Carl Hiaasen

This. Book. Is. Awesome.

A Series of Unfortunate Events

9. A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

This series is the best. She’ll love it.

Pride and Prejudice

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I mustn’t allow my little sister to neglect her Jane Austen. It would be very remiss of me if I did, and here’s to hoping that she will realize that the boys she will be in high school with next year can in no way hold a candle to Mr. Darcy and therefore aren’t worth her time. (Can you tell I’m terrified of my baby sister dating? Or am I hiding it pretty well?)

I’d love to know about your own book recommendations (not necessarily for your little sister) so drop a line in the comments and I’ll pop over to see! Happy reading!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to My 13-Year-Old Sister

    • Psh, there’s no such thing as being too old to read a book! :)
      I haven’t read the entire series yet, just the first two, but it’s been so long I’ll need to go back and reread a bit. I hope you enjoy it!

  1. HOOT!!!! HOOT!!! I LOVE THIS BOOK! And I also put this on my list for my 13 year old brother to read! Great minds think alike!
    And clearly HP needs to be on every list!
    Great list! I can totally picture a 13 year old reading these!
    My TTT

    • Haha! I got it for Christmas one year and fell in love. I really need to try some of Carl Hiaasen’s other books.
      Harry Potter is on basically every list I make; I mean, I can’t NOT include it. LOL

What do you think?

