The Sunday Post #2

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received, and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead.

Last Week on TNN Blog

Ivy Lune has lived in isolation the majority of her life. Imprisoned by her aunt and cousins, she longs to escape the shackles of her prison-like life. Unknown to her, there are dangerous forces at work; old blood ties and murderous plots threaten her chance at happiness beyond her current life.

Read my full review of The Hazel Tree here.

Author Spotlight: Check out my interview with the lovely Julia Debski, who recently self-published her first novel, The Hazel Tree.

WWW Wednesday #1: Check this out if you’d like to know what I’ve been reading! I’d also love some suggestions on what to add to my shelf next; I’m always on the prowl for good books.

Thoughtful Thursday

Thoughtful Thursday #1: In which I discuss the pantsing vs. plotting dilemma that all writers face.

Friday Finds #1: Want to see some books I’ve been adding to my TBR pile (but haven’t bought yet)? Here you go!

This Week on TNN Blog

Okay, basically this book is about two people, Ellie and Collin, descended from two other people who, a few hundred years ago, did a curse wrong and made the spirit world go boom (kind of). And now Ellie and Collin have to keep the un-boomed spirit world from killing everything on earth ’cause they hatin’. Oh, and there’s sex.

That was possibly the worst summary ever, but the official one is too long. I regret nothing.

My review will be posted tomorrow (Monday), and The Curse Keepers comes out on Tuesday, so if you’re into Native American lore and badass Virginian gals, take a look!

Top Ten Tuesday #3: Top Ten Books I’d Recommend to My 13-Year-Old Sister

This is the kind of Cinderella retelling I can get behind. This story taught me the following: princes are overrated, fairies are the scariest things ever, and my new career goal is to become a huntress.

You can check out my review of this fabulous take on a classic fairytale this Wednesday.

Writer Stereotype

In which I discuss the boxes writers are put into, not just by others but by ourselves, and in which I have a tiny rant about the absurdity of trying to “conform” as a writer.

Books, books, books! Want to know what books I’ve added to my shelf this week? Check in on Saturday and I’ll give you all the details!

Bookish News

What I’m Reading: Well, let’s get the boring out of the way first. I’m reading Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad for my lit class, and I’m not really a fan because everything about it is so bloody intentional. I mean, I know you’re a literary man, Mr. Conrad, but there’s this thing called subtlety that you should really try sometime.

I’m also elbow-deep in A Dance of Cloaks by David Dalglish (thank you Netgalley), and it’s pretty good so far.

2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge: I’ve decided to join this year’s TBR Pile Reading Challenge hosted by the lovely Evie over at Bookish. I’ll be posting more information this Friday about the challenge, what my goals are, what books I’m planning on reading, etc. If you’d like to sign up and get cracking on that TBR pile of yours too, sign ups end on December 15, so go ahead and check it out!

Writing for Christmas: I’ve decided that for Christmas, I will be writing short stories/poems for people both as a money-saver and as a good writing exercise. I’m super excited, and I’ve been brainstorming ideas for a while now.

Non-Bookish News

Travel

Philadelphia was awesome. I went at the perfect time, because it was in the prime of fall and everything was colorful and gorgeous. It was rather cold, but I really didn’t mind it, especially since I was doing so much walking. And the flight time gave me the opportunity to do a bit of reading, which I’m glad for since this week has been so busy.

Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving=school break=happy Sam.

I can’t even explain why I love this show so much. I just do. I mean, GUH. If you haven’t watched it, what the hell are you doing reading this post? You could be halfway through the pilot episode by now!

I hope you had a great week and if not, I hope this week makes up for it! Happy reading!

9 thoughts on “The Sunday Post #2

    • I love it because CW always puts up the latest episode up within a day, so if I miss one night (like I did a few weeks ago) I can go check the website over the weekend.
      I hope you enjoy your week!

  1. Pingback: 2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge | The Nighttime Novelist

What do you think?

