Top Ten Tuesday #1

Top Ten Character Names I Love

1. Gavriella

I know it’s kind of vain to have one of your own characters on this list, but I really like the way this name rolls off the tongue and it’s pretty without being too prissy. (Or at least that’s how I feel.)

2. Jace

Tawny eyes. Angel with a bad-boy streak. Total badass with a love complex. ‘Nuff said.

3. Fitzwilliam Darcy

I named my bloody CAR after this man. Darcy is an iconic name that instantly makes me think love, devotion, happiness, gushy girly feelings.

4. Coraline

I don’t even know, it’s just pretty and quirky and makes me feel good.

5. Dickon

The Secret Garden was a huge part of my childhood, and Dickon just inspires this feeling of hope and life and magic that instantly cheers me up.

6. Annabeth

Okay, so Percy Jackson isn’t, like, my favorite series ever or anything, although it was a fun read, but this name is just so bloody perfect. It’s sort of frilly but at the same time so down-to-business, and I love the names Anna and Beth individually so together=love.

7. Jesse Tuck

I mean, come on, Tuck Everlasting. How can I not love this name? It’s simple but romantic and meaningful and inspiring.

8. Harry Potter

Does this even need an explanation? HARRY. POTTER.

9. Wendy

Wendy Darling is basically the most perfect name ever. J. M. Barrie created a name that’s so iconic, it’s hard not to love it. Wendy is someone everyone wants to be, Wendy is the child that got to taste magic and adventure, Wendy is the girl who flew to the stars and back.

10. Gatsby

I can’t even…how do you explain why you love a name? I love this name because of what it brings to mind: passion, power, dreams, eternal hope, a slow fall into impossibilities. It’s a name that everyone knows, universal and timeless.

***Top Ten Tuesdays is hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish, with a new Top Ten prompt every week. Check it out!

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #1

  1. I don’t actually like Wendy all that much, myself- I’d much prefer to be Tink, and we’re probably more alike! (:
    I have no idea how I missed Fitzwilliam and Coraline off- I’m so shocked that I didn’t think of them, because iconc and perfect.

    • Haha! Yeah, I think my love of Wendy might actually be more envy than anything else. I mean, she got to fly! And piss off fairies, and meet Peter Pan, and run away from home, all in one! That would be the best day of my life!

  2. I’m officially kicking myself for having forgotten to include ‘Fitzwilliam Darcy’ and ‘Wendy Darling’ on my own list this week *Sigh* I’m an embarrassment to book bloggers everywhere. All joking aside, though, you’ve compiled an excellent list with quite a few names that I’ve loved as well! You’ve also served to remind me that I really need to make a point of reading The Secret Garden at some point. It was one of the few ‘iconic’ novels I missed experiencing as a child, and I even went so far as to purchase a copy a couple of years ago, but I’ve still yet to make the time to read it. Given all the lovely things I’ve heard about the story, I definitely need to remedy this sooner rather than later :)

    • Haha! Why thank you! I couldn’t possibly forget Fitzwilliam as a card-holding member of the Darcy Fanclub, and I’m actually going as Wendy for Halloween, so they’ve been on my mind anyway. :)
      I seriously cannot say enough how much I love The Secret Garden. That novel is perhaps the only novel that I could honestly say changed my life; it’s what got me into writing and reading in the first place so I’m slightly biased I suppose, but seriously, it is one of the most enchanting things I’ve ever read. <3

What do you think?

