What I’m Reading 4-3-2012

With my recent dive into outlining my novel, I’ve decided to start reading some more of those how-to-write-a-novel books that might help give me some ideas. The first book on my list was Outlining Your Novel: Map Your Way to Success by K. M. Weiland, and I must say, it’s chockfull of great ideas. As a very lovely bonus, it also only costs $2.99 if you buy it in e-book format. The author also has a free e-book on her website about crafting characters which I’m really looking forward to reading once I’m done with this one.

K. M. Weiland has a lot of great advice tucked into this little book, and she guides you from the beginning to the end of outlining. The first chapter focuses on misconceptions about outlining, how it supposedly “limits” your creativity (which, by the way, I’ve discovered is complete nonsense), and she takes off from their, showing you how to craft a premise, character sketches, and a load of other things to help you with your outlining. What I’m really enjoying about this book is how customizable her ideas are. It’s not a rigid plan that you have to stick to every second of the way; I’m free to utilize some techniques, tweak others, and even completely forgo a few. Weiland gives you the foundation you need, but she lets you do the building on your own, which pleased me quite a lot since this means I can really make the outlining process my own while still using a lot of her (very useful) methods.

Though I finished the book a few days ago, I find myself going back and reading various sections that I’ve found especially helpful. I’ll probably be re-reading this book a lot throughout my own outlining process.

If you like, you can check this book out on Amazon.com, and while you’re at it, take a look at her website if you’re interested in that free e-book. You’re required to subscribe before downloading the book, which bugs me just a tad, but from the few pages I’ve read, it looks good, so I’ll quit muttering about it sooner or later.

As always, have a great day!

One thought on “What I’m Reading 4-3-2012

  1. Pingback: The Writer’s Memoirs 4-6-2012 « The Nighttime Novelist

What do you think?

