The Writer’s Memoirs 3-27-2012

Around this time last year, after several months of a very dry writing period, I finally got the chance to settle down and take a proper look at my half-finished novel. Only to realize it was complete crap.

I don’t say those words lightly. We writers are notoriously narcissistic about our work, and we don’t take criticism well most of the time, even if it comes from ourselves. So it came as quite a shock to me when I started reading the first few chapters of my novel and found myself wondering why what had seemed so brilliant before was now, after a few months’ distance, one of the most horribly written things I’d ever seen.

I moped. I grumbled. I tried to convince myself it had promise. But there was no denying it. Everything in it screamed “redo”. So, instead of putting on my big girl panties and pulling up a new doc, I moaned and groaned my way out of it, until my half-finished novel, the pride and joy of my heart at one point, became a lonely little file labeled “Glenbrooke Hall”.

This year, I’ve finally felt ready to give it another go. The idea has been revised and honed countless times in my head, and with my recent purchase of a new laptop and Microsoft 2010, I’m feeling shiny-new and adventurous. Microsoft OneNote has been a tremendous help in planning out the novel, and if you don’t already have it, I highly recommend it.

My outlining is coming along quite nicely; I confess I’m dragging my feet a bit about it though (I hate outlining with a passion). I hope to have the novel fully “sketched out”, so to speak, by mid-April, and to have the actual rough draft written by October. Summer is going to be absolutely mad this year (I’m flying from Tennessee to Phoenix to Tennessee to Portland to Florida, and then back to Tennessee), so June and July will be hard on my writing life.

There are some other projects I’ve been stewing over for a while, but Glenbrooke Hall has always, and will ever be, my first love, so I’ve decided to put everything else on the back-burner and give this novel my best shot.

On that note, wish me luck in my writing endeavors, as I wish you luck in yours. And, of course, have a wonderful day!

What do you think?

